My New House

This week, for the first time, I’m participating in Friday Fictioneers. The challenge is to write a 100 word story inspired by the picture below.

If you want to join in, why not trot over to Rochelle’s blog?

Lamps

The door stuck, and I had to tug several times before it opened.

Peering into the dimness, I could see a number of odd shapes. I fumbled for the light switch, clicked once, twice. Nothing.

Stretching out through the thick dusty air, my hand grasped a wooden shaft. I lifted it. Lighter than I expected. I drew my arm back and out into the daylight. A lamp.

I reached in again, pulled out again. Another lamp.

Now the porch of my new home is full of lamps, and I haven’t even reached the stairs. What was that old lady thinking?

Tagged as: , , , ,

4 Responses »

  1. Fab first piece. You’ll soon be addicted 🙂

    Like

  2. Dear Laura,

    Welcome to Friday Fictioneers! It’s a lot like The Hotel California. You may check out anytime you like, but you can never leave.

    A bit of mystery for your first submission. I wasn’t quite clear where the lamps were coming from, though. The more you write the easier it becomes to edit and conserve.

    Also, while I don’t mind you posting your link on my page, you’ll attract more readers by using the inLinkz tool. If you need any help with that let me know, I’m happy to assist in any way.

    shalom,

    Rochelle

    Like

Leave a Reply

