The Bridge – Series 1

bridge

12 days into 2014 and I have already achieved one of my boxset goals. Truly, I am the best.

Admittedly, my hand was somewhat forced by the cruel BBC putting Series 2 of The Bridge on, forcing me to race through Series 1 in a single weekend so as to be ready on time. I accepted the challenge though, and triumphed.

I love Nordic drama. Every one just reinforces my view that I am, in fact, a Scandinavian trapped in a British mind and body. The clothes are comfortable, the jumpers are warm, the women are capable and in charge at least fifty percent of the time. This one I particularly looked forward to because it combined Sweden, home of Arne Dahl with Denmark, home of The Killing. Plus, it’s set, or at least originates, on the longest bridge I have ever seen. I spent a lot of my weekend wishing that there was a bridge between Dover and Calais. True, it wouldn’t help the immigration issue, but I think it would be smashing.

Anyway, the premise! A body is found on the bridge connecting Malmo in Sweden with Copenhagen in Denmark. At first it seems to be a Swedish body, but on second glance, it’s the top half of a Swedish body and the bottom half of a Danish body. It’s time for some international cooperation!

Representing Denmark is Martin Rohde, relaxed, happily married, many children, recently vasectomised. Representing Sweden is my absolute most favourite lady ever, Saga Noren. She clearly has some sort of mental illness, although I’m not sure what. She is very high functioning, takes everything very literally and has no concept of social norms. On the rare occasion that she becomes aware that others do things differently and tries to behave correctly, it is so stiff and precise that it’s impossible to take seriously. She reminds me of an android trying to learn how to be human. Plus, she has the most amazing pair of leather trousers. I thought there was a law that meant leather trousers always had to be tight. Evidently not.

Martin and Saga start to investigate, and it quickly becomes clear that the murderer has a serious axe to grind. He perceives five problems with society, and has devised five crimes to bring these issues to the public’s attention, with the help of the most nauseating journalist I have ever seen. In keeping with the style of The Killing, the story weaves through the lives of not only the two detectives, but also additional characters whose importance is not immediately obvious. There is a lot of emphasis on society and I always feel from the Nordic dramas that I learn a bit about the countries involved.

This one is on Netflix. Catch it if you can.

Tagged as: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

