Starting To Become A More Effective Person

Upsettingly, my foot has taken far longer to heal than I anticipated so I’ve not been to the gym for a while. Plus, it’s December, and so dark and cold. January will be better, with a fixed foot and the promise of a brand new year, in which I will certainly get everything right, stretching ahead of me.

However, as we all know, health isn’t just about physical wellbeing, and as such you’ll be pleased to know I haven’t neglected my mental well-being. I finished my second Classics Club book (more on that next week) and I have also started reading The 7 Habits of Highly Effectively People.

untitled

So far, despite the fact that I’ve read 19% of the book (according to Kindle), I haven’t yet encountered any individual habits. However, the general viewpoint (or paradigm!) is a compelling one. It basically seems to be that until my viewpoint changes, I won’t change.

Generally, I’m not really a self-help person. I think it’s an inherent distrust of the way that it all seems to be quite easy money. I give advice for free all the time, but only to people I know. These people don’t know me from Adam, so I don’t know how they’re supposed to help me.

I don’t know why I feel differently about this one. I suppose it’s probably because I do want to be a more effective person. I tend to struggle to sustain motivation and I often feel like a waste a lot of time. Now I’m two weeks away from leaving my job to work freelance in a brand new profession, and anything that helps with that, even if just by giving me a confidence boost, has got to be a good thing.

So, at the moment I’m just working on seeing things from other people’s point of view. There will be much more though!

Tagged as: , , ,

Leave a Reply

