I Love J.K. Rowling

I think J.K. Rowling is massively underrated. Seriously. I know that may seem silly, given her sales figures and acclaim, but I do think that she is still seen as a children’s author who is now playing at adult writing.

My issue with that is twofold. Firstly, I strongly object to the notion that Harry Potter is just a children’s book. It is a series that starts young, matching the protagonists, and gets progressively darker. It is amazingly complex, a fantastic web of magic, mythology and totalitarianism. It is for people of all ages, and anyone who says otherwise probably hasn’t tried it. Gah! I won’t yap on though… Secondly, The Casual Vacancy was excellent. Compelling, sensitive, a study in people, their motivations and their relationships. I would have enjoyed it even if someone else had written it.

But now we have The Cuckoo’s Calling.

image

Initially I intended not to read this. I felt for J.K., trying to write something anonymously only for some fool to put it on Twitter, and I felt it would be some sort of solidarity not to read it. Of course, my resolve is pitiful and the second I saw it on half price in Costco it was mine. What can I say? I love J.K. I love crime fiction. It’s like putting a child in a sandpit and telling it not to play. It must play. It needs to play.

I loved this as well. Let’s not beat around the bush. I have not a word of criticism. I loved Cormoran Strike, his tangled yet everyday personal life, his army background, and his dingy London-y office. I loved Robin, and envied her really, for I did not have the luck to end up in a private detective’s office when I was temping. I’m honestly tempted to give it another go though. I loved the drama, the peek into the lives of the incredibly rich, the showyness of the model lifestyle. The whole thing was eked out beautifully, and I found myself deliberately putting it down to keep it from finishing too quickly. Once I did finish, I immediately lent it to my mum. It felt wrong not to share.

My only concern now is that she may not write more. If she intended this to be a relaxing anonymous series, now that the secret’s out she may shelve it. I hope not though. I really really hope not.

Tagged as: , , , ,

5 Responses »

  1. She could always go with another pseudonym. This time.. no one should find out.

    Like

  2. I wholeheartedly agree with you about Harry Potter. I’ve had to defend that there are clear parallelisms with the Second World War too many times with people who think they are just children books.

    Like

    • There are clear parallels! And it deals with some very complex relationships. For some reason people seem to have a real problem with books that children and adults can read. The early books are more aimed at children, but why should that mean there’s nothing there for adults? It’s the same people who happily go and watch a pixar film as well!

      Like

Trackbacks

  1. Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card | The World According To Laura

Leave a Reply

