2014 so far

untitled

This week has been a bit pleut on the exercise front. I got a bug, and then I got a job! Which is good, but left me a bit busy. I finally managed to go on Friday, and I’ve set up two days next week to go with a friend, so I’m happy about that. In the spirit of self-improvement, let’s talk about how I have taken to self-employment!

In December I was finally made redundant from my job in pensions. It was voluntary, and luckily my old employer is a really great company with a fantastic redundancy package so I had the chance to do a bit of training. When redundancies were announced, it felt like a good time to reassess my life and think about what I wanted to do. Like so many people, I fell into a job after university because I needed to earn money. It was a dreadful job, and the job I got afterwards, which I fell into because I needed to earn money, was this pensions job. That was seven years ago. It is a great place to work, and I progressed well so I stayed. As simple as that. Pensions has never been the dream though, and when redundancies were announced a lot of other jobs were put on the table. I considered whether to apply for one, and in the end, it just felt like I would be choosing pensions if I did, for the rest of my life. So I went for voluntary redundancy and started to think about what I wanted to do.

After a lot of pondering, I decided to go with proofreading and editing. Obviously I have always wanted to be a writer, but I needed to choose a sustainable career and that is the closest one to writing. I did some courses, but predictably I still wasn’t really ready. The last few weeks at work I had a couple of panic attacks. It’s a recession, it’s a good place to work, and it just started to seem like a crazy decision.

So 1st January sees me sitting at home in my new office writing stuff and working on my website (still not done) and blogging and just keeping busy. I anticipated that this might be my life for the next few months before I packed it in and got a part time job.

This week though, two startling things occurred. Number one, I got a job as a proofreader! Very exciting. Number two, my application to be a contributing writer to the WhatCulture! website was accepted! Hurray!

The pay isn’t fantastic, but at this stage, it’s all about experience. After two weeks, it’s going so much better than I anticipated. I am actually a professional writer and editor!

If you’re interested in my first published film related article, here it is!

http://whatculture.com/film/10-movie-characters-want-apocalypse-comes.php

Tagged as: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 141 other followers

